The soul of wit

Posted on

This will be brief.

“This will be brief.” Sigh. Those of you who know me must be getting familiar with those words by now. Because of the stinky yucky manuscript, which by the way I have decided I TOTALLY DESPISE, I am getting in the habit of starting every email with those words. I ought to save myself time and set up a template for my emails, like this:

Dear Person I Was Nice to Before I Started Writing This Godforsaken Book,

This will be brief, on account of my accursed manuscript, which is due next month, which is, frankly, impossible to believe, unless we take into consideration the likelihood that the space/time continuum has fractured, and if that is the case, then I must register my severe disappointment that the media failed to adequately cover it.

[Insert short, bland, generally dissatisfying paragraph here.]

Anyway, I’ve got to run. I’ll resume communication with you in June.

Tomorrow I’m going to the Computers in Libraries conference in Arlington. I’ll be driving there. This means that I will have to navigate my car onto the Beltway. I am petrified. I hate traffic. I hate heavy traffic. I hate DC traffic. I may very well turn into a grease spot if someone sideswipes me.

If this happens, please: Don’t feel obligated to finish the manuscript based on my notes. I wouldn’t wish that on my worst enemy. I am not sure who my worst enemy is, but it’s the thought that counts.

I am twenty-seven today. Hum.

 

Hasn’t been the best of birthdays (something about my being in a permanently cranky, super-stressed mood may be related to that; also consider that the washing machine stole three dollars in quarters, and Goblin kicked all the cat litter out of the cat box), but it hasn’t been the worst of birthdays, either. The worst was when I was in the second grade, when I invited alllll the girls in my class to a birthday party, and not a single one of them showed.

Twenty-seven seems awfully young to be turned into a grease spot.

Have I mentioned how I loathe the book? I swear, I was absolutely craving a novel to read last night, any novel, anything (well—maybe not a romance) to take my mind off things. Compared to people who crave, say, basic health care and food, I guess I don’t have it so bad, but it sure felt awful. And I am continuing to feel absolutely wretched, a condition I rather suspect will continue till the book is finished.

Need to pack now. And then I need to… I need to… Dang, it’s on the tip of my tongue. Some pesky little chore, no doubt… Oh, right, the book! Almost forgot about it, ha ha, silly me!

Sigh. I’ll post again next week, but let me warn you now: It will be brief.

7 responses »

  1. Happy birthday, anyway. 🙂

    Reply
  2. eleemosenary archivist

    Ok drive with extra care and a belated COMPLEANOS!!,MAY THE GODS DRIVE WITH YOU & so forth. this correspondent will be en route to Dulles AP aboard the morning Greyhound via Richmond so we will be watching! Enjoy the blasted conference. Relax, do not fret,flow with the traffic continuum… If you are at dulles to meet LH 18:10 arrival you can meet salvador Dali’s only acknowledged protege;He’s the one with the silver-headed cane grinning broadly at your correspondent. Regards from the youth surf-set in the Algarve, my daughter still believes 27 is young!out for now….EA/aka tgb…

    Reply
  3. Come back toward the light and remember it’s Birthday Month. Have a happy one:)

    Reply
  4. "These are the soul’s changes. I don’t believe in aging. I believe in forever altering one’s aspect to the sun. Hence my optimism."~Virginia WoolfHappy Birthday, and welcome to 27. It isn’t so bad.

    Reply
  5. Happy Birthday! I hope your trip and the conference is fun, interesting, worth it, inspiring and exciting — not exciting as in emergency-vehicle-exciting, though. Driving up there was petrifying to me, too, the first few times I did it, but I came through unscathed, and my eyesight was really bad back then. A couple days away from your book will do you good (or are you taking a laptop? Don’t.)Twenty-seven, Wow, that is young! You’ll have plenty of time to write updated editions of your book.

    Reply
  6. Lesbrarian, if I can drive in Chicago traffic, after making it through Illinois tolls with a front window that all of a sudden wouldn’t work, and still make it home after getting on the freeway to Indiana and having my car stall (mercifully, only temporarily) in South Chicago, YOU CAN DO IT.Good luck, happy birthday you young pup (only 27? ah, youth), and don’t read any chic NF for at least a week. You’ll feel better.

    Reply
  7. eleemosenary archivist

    Happy Conferencing. Point of EA’s usual forgetful note on 06 April was to mention that the Dali guy shares yr DoB..His day was of course spent trans-Atlan from Costa Brava to Dulles & an actual encounter on 07 with ScotlandStrasse refdesk folks. his regards herewith to an Ares co-arrival.tgb/EA

    Reply

Leave a Reply

