Ravages of age

Posted on

Just a quick note, in the few minutes that remain of my dwindling lunchbreak.

My lunchbreak is dwindling because I wasted time in line. I wasted time in line because it is my birthday. It is, as usual, a crappy birthday. I cannot recall ever having had a good birthday. Maybe some year it will happen, but apparently not this year.

It would have been nice if someone at work had offered to buy me lunch, or a cup of coffee, or something. This did not happen. At this point I think it would be nice if someone merely bothered to wish me a happy birthday.

But even though there is a distinct absense of baked goods in honor of my birthday here at work, I decided I would stop by the local coffee shop/bakery to buy us something tasty, my treat. There was a lovely creme brulee cheesecake sitting in the case, every single slice intact. I asked how much it would cost to buy it.

“You have to order cakes three days in advance,” they told me, after I waited, and waited, and waited in line.

“But I’d like to buy that cake, right there.”

“But you have to order three days in adv–“

“Nevermind.”

So now I have zero slices of creme brulee cheesecake, only one person at work remembered my birthday (for which I’m grateful, though his rendition of Marilyn Monroe’s “happy birthday” was distinctly unsettling), and I am eating a Lean Cuisine for my birthday lunch. And did I mention I didn’t bring a snack with me? It is going to be a long, hungry afternoon, followed by a long, hungry walk back home. I had foolishly assumed there would be cake.

The good news is that I can see, sort of. I haven’t written here in ages because I’ve been getting killer headaches every time I look at a computer screen. It’s taken two months worth of dealing with my eye doctor (who is competent) and her assistant (who is decidedly not) to finally, maybe, get a pair of glasses that work. I am trying to get adjusted to my new bifocals, which I have owned now for about thirty minutes.

Yes: bifocals. I’m definitely aging. Happy birthday to me.

 

5 responses »

  1. you haven’t received a package?

    Reply
  2. the lesbrarian

    Two, actually, but I had ordered them both so I wasn’t very surprised.

    Reply
  3. Hrm. I’ll have to see if I’ve gotten anything returned. You *should* have some tiny stegasauri.

    Reply
  4. eleemosenary archvist

    May the gods of graceful days always be upon ya, Madame! Just now left phone message & inscribed a belated card to my other 06 April birthday compadre in far distant Espana.Perhaps such unremarked faux paux should sit heavily upon shoulders of those who neglect the rituals of Social Decency.Mea Culpa,but belated personal good wishes for a fine year ahead.Good luck with yr new goggles,too.:) EA/tgb.

    Reply
  5. eleemosenary arcihvist

    May the gods of graceful days always be upon ya, Madame! Just now left phone message & inscribed a belated card to my other 06 April birthday compadre in far distant Espana.Perhaps such unremarked faux paux should sit heavily upon shoulders of those who neglect the rituals of Social Decency.Mea Culpa,but belated personal good wishes for a fine year ahead.Good luck with yr new goggles,too.:) EA/tgb.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

