Putting the fun in funeral

Posted on

I learned a valuable lesson yesterday about death and dying: funerals must always have a two-year-old in attendance. Having a small child start singing or stomping about or playing peek-a-boo, noisily, really lightens the somber weepy bits.

Just got back from a week in Wisconsin. Got to spend time with Grandpa Vern (Mom’s dad) before he died at a very respectable 91. Got to spend time with family (including cousins aged 9, 7, and 2, though I can’t really apply the word “respectable” to any of them), which was nice, and got to spend time with extended family, which was awkward. (“Er, hi, I’m Jessica… Er. Y’know. Vern’s granddaughter? Yes, I appreciate that I look different, I was twelve last time you saw me, my how time flies.”)

So that’s why I’ve been negligent with updates here– between attending deathbeds and funerals and finishing up a chapter (with some revisions needing to be done still) I’ve been preoccupied. I’ll write again soon– after those revisions get finished (ya hear me, editor?) but as soon as possible after that, this weekend maybe.

5 responses »

  1. I’m very sorry about your grandpa Vern, Jessica. I hope your next visit to Wisconsin is a happier one, although I know just what you’re saying about 2-year-olds. They liven up all sorts of family occasions, and it’s particularly nice if they’re not yours so you can get them all riled up on soda and snacks and then send them home with their parents. At least that’s what I enjoy doing as an aunt.

    Reply
  2. Thanks, CR. Grandpa was old and, more importantly, ready to move on. Death pretty much always sucks, no matter how you slice it, but this was as good a death as possible. Plus really it was great having the two-year-old at the funeral. I totally recommend it.

    Reply
  3. I totally hear what you’re saying, Lesbrarian. My husband’s grandma died this past summer, in her mid-80s, and her whole family was incensed that she had recently turned down a pacemaker operation. But for me, when an older lady says no to a pacemaker, that’s code for, "Been here, done that–I’m ready to go," so I was rather happier for her than sad. There were lots of kids at that funeral too, which didn’t hurt either.

    Reply
  4. eleemosenary arcihvist

    Sorry to hear that your Grandpa passed away.Jess, but can imagine it pleased him you got there for a farewell visit. Hope his deds & memories of him will cheer he lives of the little ones who were there. best regards,tgb

    Reply
  5. eleemosenary arcihvist

    Sorry to hear that your Grandpa passed away.Jess, but can imagine it pleased him you got there for a farewell visit. Hope his deeds & memories of him will cheer the lives of the little ones who were there. best regards,tgb

    Reply

Leave a Reply

